VPAA Faculty Advisory Committee Members

Committee Members AY 2016-17

Douglas Beck Ph.D.
Professor, Physics
Department of Physics (Urbana campus)
Creator of the G0 Experiment at Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Areas of Specialization: Experimental nuclear physics

Benét DeBerry-Spence Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Marketing
College of Business (Chicago campus)
Areas of Specialization: Engaged Transformative Research; Developing Markets;
African and African American Markets; Consumer Behavior; Microentrepreneurship

Beverly Bunch Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Public Administration,
College of Public Affairs and Administration (Springfield campus)
Associate Professor, Center for State Policy and Leadership
Areas of Specialization: Public debt financing; Capital budgeting

Nick Burbules Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Educational Policy Studies,
College of Education (Urbana campus)
Edward William & Jane Marr Gutsgell Professor
Director, Ubiquitous Learning Institute
Areas of Specialization: Educational Theory; Philosophy of Education; Online teaching and learning

Margareth Etienne J.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Law (Urbana campus)
Professor, College of Law
Nancy Snowden Research Scholar in Law
Areas of Specialization: Criminal Law; Criminal Procedure; Children and the Law

Mary Jo LaDu Ph.D..
Professor, College of Medicine (Chicago campus)
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology
Areas of Specialization: Pathology of Alzheimer disease (AD) by focusing on the structure/function interactions between the human isoforms of apolipoprotein E (apoE) and amyloid-β peptide (Aβ)

Anna Lysakowski, Ph.D.
Professor, Dept. of Anatomy and Cell Biology
Professor of Anatomy in Otolaryngology
College of Medicine (Chicago campus)
Areas of Specialization: Neuroscience, Inner Ear Biology, Vestibular Periphery, Confocal and Electron Microscopy

Abolfazl (Kouros) Mohammadian Ph.D.
Professor of Transportation Engineering,
Department of Civil and Materials Engineering,
College of Engineering (Chicago campus)
Areas of Specialization: Transportation systems analysis, modeling and management; Travel demand modeling; Data mining & Applied econometrics

Marya Schechtman
Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Chicago campus)
Professor, Philosophy
Areas of Specialization: Personal Identity with a focus on the relation between the ethical and metaphysical dimensions.
Affiliated with the Laboratory of Integrative Neuroscience

Joyce Tolliver Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese
Department of Spanish, Italian and Portuguese (Urbana Campus)
SIP; Affiliated Faculty of Latin American and Caribena Studies
Associate Head, SIP, Associate Professor of Gender and Women's Studies
Areas of Specialization: Spain, 19-20th centuries, Gender, Narrative, Translation, Philippines

Jorge Villegas Ph.D.
BUS Program Chair
Associate Professor, Business Administration,
College of Business and Management (Springfield campus)
Areas of Specialization: Advertising and Consumer Behavior