University of Illinois > Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs

University of Illinois Wordmark image map

University of Illinois University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of Illinois at Chicago University of Illinois at Springfield

University of Illinois Wordmark map links

University of Illinois: Champaign-Urbana, Chicago, Springfield

Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs

University Scholars Program

Faculty excellence is the cornerstone of any university of high quality. There is no more important task at the University of Illinois than attracting and retaining the very best teachers and scholars. The Faculty Scholar Program aims to recognize outstanding members of the faculty and to provide each with a funding allocation to enhance their scholarly activities.

Scholar awards are not made for a specific project or proposal; rather, they represent recognition of the recipient’s excellence and the University’s commitment to foster outstanding people and their work. Therefore, the awards are made through nominations, not by application.

As of 2013, each award consists of an allocation of $15,000 per year for a period of three years. Recipients may use the funds at their discretion to enhance their scholarly work through travel, equipment, research assistants, scholarly materials or other uses that support their university-related teaching or research. University Scholars funds cannot be used toward the recipients’ base salary but can be used to support a summer salary of up to two-ninths of base salary.

Eligibility to the University Scholar Program is limited to members of the University of Illinois faculty, as defined in the University Statutes, i.e. members of the academic staff who are tenured or receiving credit toward tenure.

Each campus will determine its selection criteria and process. Prior to the end of the academic year, they will submit the selection results to the President. Formal announcements of new University Scholars will generally be timed to coincide with the beginning of the academic year following selection.

University Scholars from 1985 to current year

2013 University Scholars

Scott Ahlgren, Mathematics (Urbana)

Hua Chen, Biology (Springfield)

Elvira de Mejia, Food Science and Human Nutrition (Urbana)

Carol Ferrans, Behavioural Health Science (Chicago)

Tanera Marshall, Theater and Music (Chicago)

Susan Martinis, Biochemistry (Urbana)

Sudip Mazumder, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Chicago)

Silvina Montrul, Spanish, Italian, & Portuguese and Linguistics (Urbana)

Mani Pavuluri, Psychiatry (Chicago)

Kevin Pitts, Physics (Urbana)

Jay Rosenstein, Journalism (Urbana)

William Teale, Curriculum and Instruction (Chicago)

Nikos Varelas, Physics (Chicago)

Donald Wink, Chemistry (Chicago)

updated Sept 2013





377 Henry Administration Building, MC-348
506 South Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801, USA
Tel: 217-333-3077
Fax: 217-244-3173